SIster, Friend, & Now Melody’s Ma-Licious

Thanksgiving 14 years ago,… I made my first jaunt to New Orleans, it was the drying cement that culminated our friendship. The day you became more than my friend, but my family and 14 years later on our holiday you have become a mommy.  The last four years have been a stretch of worry, change, adulthood to it’s max. It’s funny but the day I got that text with the positive sign, have worried about you less than ever before in our journey. Melody might just have it better than any song or rhyme that has hit the billboard top slots. I had my moments of sheer panic over the last few years, but when I met the man she shall call Daddy… I found a calm iin my heart for you. I felt that thing I feel when God is telling me that he has got it covered.  The real good stories are coming now… this is the part where you get to one up the generation before, The time you can look back and utilize those.. ” When I have kids…”moments.”

I am no one’s mother..but of this I am sure… your words are just as powerful as your actions. Patience is a virture of relentless attemps at just making it to the next level in Super Mario brothers. my promise to my bestest as she begins this journey of motherhood. I will listen to every “She is so Cute”, ” my baby is a genius” story you can dish out. When she enters the terrible twos I won’t laugh when there is a peanut butter and jelly meltdiown because she won’t eat a thing else. When I am in town…. I will disappear with Mel and Mekaykay for at least a two hr span so you can have the kind of MOmmmy Daddy time that will build your resilence. I will write One Tree Hill Style auntie poems  that remind you that you have the sister girl alliance that won’t lack sincerity, bring you smiles… and rest the worries of the mothers mind. I will sing and dance at birthday parites and even watch Netflix for kids with Kayla when it seems like Babies get all the luck. Welcome to your new life.  You will be just as amazing a mom as you are friend,,,I can finally  say with honesty and sincerity that’s its kinda great that you ditched the best coast for that other coast,,, 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “SIster, Friend, & Now Melody’s Ma-Licious

  1. I haven’t stopped by in a while. You have a gift. Keep writing. Your words are moving, endearing and FELT! Peace be unto you 🙂

  2. Alot of days I doubt that very idea… so thank you for reminding me of what I tell myself I forget on days when I don’t feel like it’s true, or the inspiration is buried under the the devil’s relentless whisper of ‘your okay but not great style fears”… And Peace unto you as well… aka Ditto…. BTW I love the DG…..

Leave a Reply

